Fukagawa Fudō-dō was established in 1703 as a branch temple of Narita-san Shinshō-ji temple. This temple belongs to the Chisan group in the Shingon school of Buddhism (one of the major schools of Buddhism in Japan) and practices Esoteric Buddhism.
During the World War II, the wooden temple building dates from 1862 and was brought here in 1950 after the temple was destroyed. This wooden building is the former main hall, the current main hall is the modern building on the left which was completed in 2011. The building behind the wooden temple building, as known as the inner building, has been built since 2000.
Fudōmyō-ō is the god of justice, who fends of evil with his sword and menacing look. He is usually shown with flames on the background and it is thought that he continuously needs to replenish his power with the energy of fire. Hence, at this temple, the Goma fire rituals at which wooden sticks are burnt during a ceremony several times a day in order to give Fudōmyō-ō the fighting force he needs. This ceremony is held with powerful and loud drumbeats and relentless resonant incantations.
- Main temple building (the new building on the left): Prayer gallery with 10.000 small crystal gorintō (five-ringed tower, a Japanese type of Buddhist pagoda).
- Old wooden temple building: the Onegai-Fudōson statue, made from 500-year-old camphorwood from Kumamoto prefecture.
- 1st floor (inner building): seated Fudōmyō-ō statue, made by the famous sculptor Sawada Sekō.
- 2nd floor (inner building): experience the Shikoku O-henro, the famous pilgrimage around 88 temples in one room, special lighting and sounds included.
- 4th floor (inner building): ceiling painting of Dainichi Buddha by Nakajima Chinami.
Leave a Reply